Stay up to date on all things CCEE

Intuit Mailchimp


Our Team

Click here to learn more about CCEE's Board of Directors

CCEE Staff

Denise Gutierrez

President and CEO

Denise Gutierrez has dedicated her career to economically empowering youth through education by providing resources and programs to help them reach their goals. She began her educational journey at Chaffey Community College. Denise went on to achieve a Bachelor of Arts degree in Sociology and a Master’s degree in Leadership and Management from the University of La Verne. During her time in higher education, she helped produce multiple programs to enhance the first-generation undergraduate experience. Denise currently serves on the California Jump$tart Board and Council on Economic Education Network Advisory Committee. She has an extensive background in institutional advancement, fundraising, and corporate and foundation relations. As the youngest of five children from El Sereno, California and someone who is the first in her family to earn a college degree, she is deeply committed to being of service to her community. She praises her four children for being her biggest inspiration.


[email protected]

Nicole Lequerica

Operations Coordinator and Event Planner

Originally from New Jersey, Nicole Lequerica graduated magna cum laude from William Paterson University. She has a Bachelor’s degree in Music Management and Vocal Performance with a K-5 Teaching Certification. Nicole has a lifelong commitment to music, art, and education with a deep focus in underserved communities. Over the years she’s volunteered and worked with various non-profit organizations across the country. It’s through these relationships & experiences that her passion for mentorship continues to grow. Nicole’s unique blend of executive, educational, and event planning experience came together in her joining CCEE last year. She’s extremely enthusiastic about helping students & teachers learn more about the importance of economic education and financial literacy. Nicole’s greatest passion of all is family, including her husband, and beautiful 5-year-old son who’s already starting to learn the power of financial education!


[email protected]

Joshua Mitton

Chief Programs Officer

Joshua Mitton is Chief Program Officer at the California Council on Economic Education. He also teaches economics at Irvine Valley College. Joshua was drawn to economics education from the early days of studying the subject. After reading his initial college economics text the first weekend it was assigned, he went on to obtain a B.A. in Economics from Idaho State University, and Master’s in Economics from Cal State Fullerton. Early work as a tutor for the department kindled an interest in helping others to learn and love economics. Additional opportunities working as a graduate assistant in the Center for Economic Education came along and led to his work with CCEE. Now his key focus at CCEE is ensuring that economics is accessible, practical and empowering for teachers and their students, and that teachers are valued and supported in their efforts.


[email protected]

Lexie Nguyen

Director of Marketing and Communications

Lexie is a vibrant communications and marketing specialist, with an emphasis on digital marketing. She is a Long Beach, California native who studied Political Science and International Relations at Florida International University in Miami, Florida. She has experience with international, state, and local nonprofit initiatives; political and labor campaigns; and expanded learning education and policy. She is a trained youth facilitator in human relations, and volunteers as a mentor to engage elementary, middle, and high school students in dialogue focused on transforming and challenging oppression and inequities.


[email protected]

Carmen Solorzano

Programs Manager

Carmen Solorzano was born and raised in South Los Angeles for her entire life before moving to Northern California for college. She is a first-generation college graduate with a B.A. in Liberal Arts from California State University, East Bay. Her family is originally from El Salvador. She is passionate about the economics and personal finance programs that CCEE provides to K-12 schools and communities due to a desire to share valuable resources to communities like the one that she’s a part of.


[email protected]


Secretary : Keith Drake

President and CEO : Denise Gutierrez

Chairperson : Stephen Sherline

Treasurer : Sharie Sohrabkhani

Get Involved
3605 Long Beach Blvd. Suite 334
Long Beach, CA 90807
Phone: (310) 373-2483